Adjustng!

Even though its only been just over a week, I feel like I’ve already been in Paris for a very long time. When I’m getting used to being in a new situation, time seems to go really slowly because of all the new sights, people and surroundings. However, my excitement in being in Paris definitely overwhelmed any amount of stress I  have been experiencing.

La Tour Eiffel
La Tour Eiffel

Tell me that isn’t worth a little bit of anxiety…

So its been an interesting week, to say the least. After battling jet lag (still going strong with that one), I’ve come into a more normal schedule that involves cursing the sun and wishing that my body ignored that I woke up at “4 a.m.” I can’t even imagine waking up for classes at 7:30 so I can be there at 9 a.m. on the dot….city living is definitely not in my future…

I also ate steak tartare, without knowing what steak tartare was before having eaten it. This isn’t to say that I’d never heard of people eating raw meat. I’d just never understood why people did it. I like my meat cooked. I like it nice and brown and no amount of pink, thank you very much, and that goes for any blood that used to pump through the veins of whatever animal I decided to ingest.

However, at a dinner at a family friends house, they served me a plate with the most delicious, delicate potatoes au gratin. It was sublime. To my horror, not long after that came the gratin’s long lost friend, The Steak. Mr Steak was pink. No, wait, I apologize, pink is an understatement. It was as if this steak was cut from a lightly sunburnt cow in the back yard.

After thoroughly freaking myself out, I realized that at this point it was too late to request to have my meat popped on the grill for more cooking.

I had to resort to my camouflaging tactics. If everyone else at this dinner party was digging in, obviously there was nothing wrong with this meal (except for the blood), and I would have to follow suit. By disguising the meat under layers of potatoes and cheese, I managed to finish every. last. bite. of that steak tartare.

And actually it was pretty good.

So never say never, as the ol’ Bieb’s says*, and try new things always! Because hey, maybe it’ll be a cool story or maybe it wont, but you can’t live life without trying things. But anyways, it’s been a long week, and I’m sure there are longer ones to follow!

A bientot!

Araz

* I 300% apologize for even mentioning him in this. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

