It’s Paris time….almost

As I take a quick walk around my Parisian neighborhood, I pass the boulangerie. I can almost taste the pastries, the perfected baked goods, the positively picturesque breads. But I can’t go in.

Yet again google maps has not given me what I’d been promised. Street view! Yes. Real-time view! No. I still have to wait a few more weeks until I can truly walk into the bakery after I step off the metro.

Image
The closest “paris related” photo I have in my current picture library. Not sorry.

My plane ticket mocks me. Pictures my friends post from abroad mock me. The posters on my room even mock me, and I thought they were on my side.

It hasn’t hit me yet that soon I will physically be in Paris again. The feeling of excitement and apprehension bubbles up from time to time, but it doesn’t seem real -not yet anyway. Soon I can see my friends again and even those from back home who are studying in various countries, and I can’t seem to wrap my mind around this. It’s almost a fairy tale. Bibbity-bobbity boo and I’ll be on my way to France. What!?

It’s also the second time I’ll celebrate a birthday in Paris, which reminds me of two things. I have visited Paris before (unimaginable!) and I’m getting old. Obviously I am not really getting old in the sense where my body is falling apart and I can’t remember where I put my keys (I do that without the help of old age, but that is another story). I am getting old in the sense that this is my twenty first birthday and I have been alive enough to be able to have this experience. I have actually lived about a fifth of the allotted time we are biologically given on this Earth. What!?

I’m getting a bit ahead of myself and for no real reason. Basically I am just super excited and I can’t process it without typing it inarticulately with streams of letters. So forgive me. I’ll be posting a link to my travel blog once it gets closer to the date, so keep in touch! So soon! I’m looking at the plane ticket again! Oops!!!!!!!

djslakds;adjlsadjasdjsakdjasiuwoac,

Araz

Leave a Reply

